< Back to blog

Everything you need to know about the Rugby League World Cup 2021 Posted On 05 October 2022

The pinnacle competition in the sport is just on the horizon


England is very soon set to host an international world cup competition - the Rugby League World Cup.

The tournament was originally scheduled to take place in October 2021, however this had to be postponed until this year due to the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic, which saw both Australia and New Zealand withdraw from the competition.

More than 60 matches are set to be played up and down the country as part of the competition, which will begin on Saturday, October 15, with the final set to be played on Saturday, November 19, at Manchester United’s Old Trafford stadium.

This is the sixteenth edition of the competition, and will be a landmark year as for the very first time, women’s and wheelchair games will run in parity with the men’s tournament.

Sixteen nations from across the globe will be competing, which is two more sides than in previous editions.

Teams set to compete include four home nations, England, Wales, Ireland and Scotland, as well as other European sides such as France, Greece and Italy.

Other nations set to compete include Jamaica, Cook Islands, Fiji, Tonga, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Lebanon and champions of the 2017 competition, Australia.

The 16 qualified sides have been split into four groups of four, who will each play each other once, with the top two sides from each group proceeding to the knockout stages.

There will then be quarter-final and semi-final rounds before the grand final at the end of the competition.

A number of major venues up and down England will host fixtures throughout the competition, including the Emirates Stadium, in London, Newcastle’s St James’ Park, Leeds’ Elland Road, the Riverside Stadium, in Middlesbrough, Hull’s MKM Stadium, the University of Bolton Stadium, Sheffield’s Bramall Lane, Coventry Building Society arena and Totally Wicked Stadium, in St Helens, amongst others.

The BBC has already announced that all 61 games across the men’s, women’s and wheelchair fixtures, will be broadcast live across their channels, ensuring that fans will not miss out on a single second of the action.

< Back to blog

Connect with us

Recent Posts

Crafty solutions to add extra storage to your home

Having a place for everything can help to make your space tidier   Cleaning your home can feel so much easier and satisfying when doing it in a tidy space. However, many of us may find ourselves buried underneath belongings as we run out of stor...


Top tips on how to hang Christmas lights like the pros and be the envy of your neighbours

Make sure your home stands out this year   As we plummet towards Christmas Day, more and more homes in our neighbourhoods will be starting to stand out a bit more than usual thanks to festive lighting. Most homes will be decorated with beautiful...


The Three Lions roar into World Cup quarter finals in impressive display over Senegal

England defeated the African side in the home nation’s latest fixture in the competition   England’s impressive World Cup campaign has continued in fine fashion after they beat Senegal 3-0 to set up a mouth-watering quarter final sho...